SIGN UP TO RECEIVE EMAIL UPDATES

 
Click here to receive email updates
 

Iowa: Suppressor Legalization Bill Passes Senate Subcommittee, Needs Your Help

This afternoon House File 2279a bill introduced by Rep. Matt Windschitl and Rep. Terry Baxter that would make Iowa the 42nd state to legalize suppressors, passed out of a subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary Committee. The ASA was on hand to testify in support of the bill, along with the Iowa Firearms Coalition and the NRA. As you may remember, a similar bill passed the Iowa House last year as well, before running into roadblocks in the Senate. The ASA spent the afternoon at the Capitol in Des Moines meeting with legislators in Iowa in an effort to ensure that HF 2279 passes out of the Senate and makes it to Gov. Branstad’s desk. 

This bill heads to the full Senate Judiciary Committee for a vote tomorrow at 1pm, before heading to the Senate floor for a vote in coming days. Please contact the members of the subcommittee and politely urge them advance this legislation. 

Steve Sodders – steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov

Robert Hogg – rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov

Charles Schneider – charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov

Tony Bisignano – tony.bisignano@legis.iowa.gov

Julian Garett – julian.garett@legis.iowa.gov

Wally Horn– wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov

Kevin Kinney – kevin.kinney@legis.iowa.gov

Janet Petersen – janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov

Herman Quirmbach – herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov

Tom Shipley – tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov

Rich Taylor – rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

Jack Whitver – jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov

Brad Zaun – brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov

Senate switchboard: (515) 281-3371

There are many benefits to using a suppressor, including:

  1. HEARING PROTECTION: Noise induced hearing loss and tinnitus are two of the most common afflictions for recreational shooters and hunters. Everyone knows that gunfire is loud, but very few people understand the repercussions that shooting can have on their hearing until it’s too late. Suppressors reduce the noise of a gunshot by an average of 20 – 35 dB, which is roughly the same as earplugs or earmuffs. By decreasing the overall sound signature, suppressors help to preserve the hearing of recreational shooters, hunters, and hunting dogs around the world.
  2. SAFER HUNTING: Most hunters do not wear hearing protection in the field because they want to hear their surroundings. The trouble is, exposure to even a single unsuppressed gunshot can, and often does, lead to permanent hearing damage. Suppressors allow hunters to maintain full situational awareness, while still protecting their hearing. The result is a safer hunting experience for the hunter, and for those nearby.
  3. NOISE COMPLAINTS: As urban developments advance into rural areas, shooting ranges and hunting preserves across the country are being closed due to noise complaints. Although it can still be heard, suppressed gunfire helps mitigate noise complaints from those who live near shooting ranges and hunting land.
  4. ACCURACY:  Suppressors reduce recoil, and help decrease muzzle flinch. These benefits lead to improved accuracy, better shot placement, and more humane hunts.

Iowa State Flag

This entry was posted in American Suppressor Association, Hunting, Hunting, Legislation, NRA, Ownership, Shall Certify, Shall Sign and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>