This week, Rep. Chip Baltimore (R-47) introduced ASA, NRA, and IFC backed House Study Bill 201, a bipartisan omnibus firearms bill that will, among other things, legalize suppressor ownership in Iowa. The bill, which passed a subcommittee of the House Judiciary Committee by a 3 – 0 on Tuesday, also includes a “Shall-sign” provision, which would require Chief Law Enforcement Officers (CLEOs) in Iowa to sign suppressor applications within 30 days of receipt, unless the applicant is found to be a prohibited person.  If passed, this bill would make Iowa the 40th state to allow private ownership of suppressors.

Rep. Matt Windschitl (R-17) has also played a crucial role in shepherding this bill through the committee process, and along with Rep. Baltimore he is working to find middle ground to advance the interests of the 3 million Iowans who are currently prohibited from owning suppressors.  The American Suppressor Association is working hard to ensure that this bill becomes law, and we are very excited about the prospect of bringing suppressor ownership to Iowans.

As always, the American Suppressor Association will continue to work tirelessly to ensure that your suppressor rights are protected and expanded. We will keep you updated as this pro-suppressor legislation advances.

Using the contact information below, please call and email members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to vote in support of HSB 201.  

House Judiciary Committee: (515) 281-3221

Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
Email:  chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25), Vice Chairman
Email:  stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
Email: mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
Email: marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Terry C. Baxter (R-8)
Email: Terry.Baxter@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Deborah L. Berry (D-62)
Email: deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Darrel Branhagen (R-55)
Email: Darrel.Branhagen@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
Email: dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
Email: chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
Email: greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov

Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
Email: dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Megan Jones (R-2)
Email: megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
Email: bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
Email: brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Zach Nunn (R-30)
Email: Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
Email: jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Rick Olson (R-31)
Email: rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
Email: todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Ken Rizer (R-68)
Email: Ken.Rizer@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Walt Rogers (R-60)
Email: walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov

Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
Email: matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov

 

Iowa State Flag

Leave a Reply