Salvo Hunting
This week, Rep. Mark Anderson (R-9A) introduced ASA and NRA backed House File 1434, a bipartisan bill that would legalize suppressor ownership and hunting in Minnesota. The bill also includes a “Shall Sign” provision, which would require Chief Law Enforcement Officers (CLEOs) in Minnesota to sign suppressor applications within 15 days of receipt, unless the applicant is found to be a prohibited person.  If passed, this bill would make Minnesota the 40th state to allow private ownership of suppressors. Similar legislation has been introduced in Illinois, Iowa, and Vermont this session.

HF 1434 was referred to the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee. A companion bill with identical text was also filed in the Senate by Sen. Paul Gazelka (R-9). Senate File 1435 was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Rep. David Dill (DFL-3A) and Rep. Tony Cornish (R-23B), Chairman of the House Public Safety Committee, have also played a crucial role in the introduction of this legislation, and are working hard to advance the interests of the 5.3 million Minnesotans who are currently prohibited from owning suppressors.  The American Suppressor Association is working hard to ensure that this bill becomes law, and we are very excited about the prospect of bringing suppressor ownership to Minnesotans.

There are many benefits to using a suppressor, including:

  1. HEARING PROTECTION: Noise induced hearing loss and tinnitus are two of the most common afflictions for recreational shooters and hunters. Everyone knows that gunfire is loud, but very few people understand the repercussions that shooting can have on their hearing until it’s too late. Suppressors reduce the noise of a gunshot by an average of 20 – 35 dB, which is roughly the same as earplugs or earmuffs. By decreasing the overall sound signature, suppressors help to preserve the hearing of recreational shooters, hunters, and hunting dogs around the world.
  2. SAFER HUNTING: Most hunters do not wear not wear hearing protection in the field because they want to hear their surroundings. The trouble is, exposure to even a single unsuppressed gunshot can, and often does, lead to permanent hearing damage. Suppressors allow hunters to maintain full situational awareness, while still protecting their hearing. The result is a safer hunting experience for the hunter, and for those nearby.
  3. NOISE COMPLAINTS: As urban developments advance into rural areas, shooting ranges and hunting preserves across the country are being closed due to noise complaints. Although it can still be heard, suppressed gunfire helps mitigate noise complaints from those who live near shooting ranges and hunting land.
  4. ACCURACY: Suppressors reduce recoil, and help decrease muzzle flinch. These benefits lead to improved accuracy, better shot placement, and more humane hunts.

As always, the American Suppressor Association will continue to work tirelessly to ensure that your suppressor rights are protected and expanded. We will keep you updated as this pro-suppressor legislation advances.

Using the contact information below, please call and email members of the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee and urge them to vote in support of HF 1434.

Representative Tony Cornish (R), Chairman
Email:  rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R), Vice Chairman
Email:  rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL), Ranking Member
Email: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative John (Jack) Considine Jr. (DFL)
Email: rep.jack.considine@house.mn

Representative Raymond Dehn (DFL)
Email: rep.raymond.dehn@house.mn

Representative Jerry Hertaus (R)
Email: rep.jerry.hertaus@house.mn

Representative Jeff Howe (R)
Email: rep.jeff.howe@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R)
Email: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Eric Lucero (R)
Email: rep.eric.lucero@house.mn

Representative Jim Newburger (R)

Email: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Marion O’Neill (R)
Email: rep.marion.oneill@house.mn

Representative Duane Quam (R)
Email: rep.duane.quam@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL)
Email: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL)
Email: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative JoAnn Ward (DFL)
Email: rep.joann.ward@house.mn

Representative Ryan Winkler (DFL)
Email: rep.ryan.winkler@house.mn

Representative Nick Zerwas (R)
Email: rep.nick.zerwas@house.mn

500px-Flag_of_Minnesota.svg

Leave a Reply