Salvo Hunting

The New Hampshire House Fish and Game and Marine Resources Committee is scheduled to hear House Bill 500 on Tuesday, February 17 at 10:15 A.M. in LOB 305. Sponsored by Rep. John Burt (R-39), the bill seeks to legalize the use of suppressors while hunting in the Granite State. Hunters are currently able to use suppressors in 35 states.

Suppressors, which are already legal to possess in New Hampshire, are the hearing protection of the 21st century sportsman. Despite common misconceptions, suppressors are not silent. They are simply mufflers for firearms.

There are many benefits to using a suppressor, including:

  1. HEARING PROTECTION: Suppressors reduce the noise of a gunshot by an average of 20 – 35 dB, which is roughly the same as earplugs or earmuffs. By decreasing the overall sound signature, suppressors help to preserve the hearing of recreational shooters, hunters, and hunting dogs around the world.
  2. HUNTING: Most hunters do not wear not wear hearing protection in the field because they want to hear their surroundings. Suppressors allow hunters to maintain full situational awareness while still protecting their hearing. The result is a safer hunting experience.
  3. NOISE COMPLAINTS: Although it can still be heard, suppressed gunfire helps mitigate noise complaints from those who live near shooting ranges and hunting land.
  4. ACCURACY: Suppressors reduce recoil, and help decrease muzzle flinch. These benefits lead to improved accuracy, better shot placement, and more humane hunts.

Please contact the members of the New Hampshire House Fish and Game and Marine Resources Committee today and urge them to support HB 500. Contact information can be found here:

House Fish and Game and Marine Resources Committee:

Representative David Kidder, Chairman (R-Merrimack 5)
david.kidder@leg.state.nh.us

Representative James Webb, Vice Chairman (R-Rockingham 6)
james.webb@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Elisabeth Sanders (R-Rockingham 12)
elisabeth.sanders@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Joe Duarte (R-Rockingham 2)
joe.duarte@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Guy Comtois (R-Belknap 7)
gcomtois2010@gmail.com

Representative Carlos Gonzalez (R-Hillsborough 45)
cegonzalezj@comcast.net

Representative Shem Kellogg (R-Rockingham 14)
shem.kellogg@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Robert Knowles (R-Strafford 12)
RKnowles@metrocast.net

Representative Shari LeBreche (R-Belknap 6)
shari.lebreche@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Douglas Long (R-Merrimack 4)
longbroscon@mcttelecom.com

Representative Harold Parker (R-Carroll 6)
hbpcd6@gmail.com

Representative James Spillane (R-Rockingham 2)
James@JamesSpillane.org

Representative Kenneth Ward (D-Strafford 21)
ken.ward@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Benjamin Baroody (D-Hillsborough 43)
ben.baroody@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Armand Forest (D-Hillsborough 18)
Armand.Forest@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Richard McNamara (D-Hillsborough 38)
Richard.McNamara@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Ted Rokas (D-Hillsborough 12)
Ted.Rokas@leg.state.nh.us

Representative C. Lee Guerette (D-Hillsborough 33)
Lee.Guerette@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Ivy Vann (D-Hillsborough 24)
Ivy.Vann@leg.state.nh.us

 

Leave a Reply